Computer Science Instructor Among 6 Recognized by LSU College of Engineering

William Duncan, an instructor in the Division of Computer Science and Engineering, was among six faculty members to receive the Award for Instructor Excellence from LSU’s College of Engineering in September.

Also honored were:

  • Clint Willson, a professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering.

  • Isabelina Nahmens, designated professor and program director in the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering.

  • Gerry Knapp, designated professor in the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering.

  • Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, designated professor in the Division of Electrical & Computer Engineering.

  • Michael Benton, designated professor in the Cain Department of Chemical Engineering, who won the Students’ Choice award.

Honorees receive a $4,500 cash award. They were selected based on factors including student success rates, departmental support and teaching philosophy. Benton, the Students’ Choice winner, was selected through an online voting process.

The awards, which recognize quality instruction in entry-level engineering courses, are open to all full-time LSU engineering instructors or faculty with the rank of assistant professor or higher. They are funded through the Dean’s Fund for Instructor Excellence, established by LSU petroleum engineering alumnus Harry Longwell to enhance the quality of instruction for entry-level students.